Word Con 2 Day 1 Part 2

Hi everyone, so like last time I had word con, I will be posting a blog post for each of my teachers to have a look at and comment on. Please expect to see this message at the beginning of each blog post.


This time the session was with Andrew McRae, the author of Truck Song. Okay, so I think I need to reiterate that I did not like Truck Song, it did not appeal to me at all. However, in saying that, I found Andrew McRae incredibly interesting.

His ideas on language and how the language had evolved into that used within Truck Song was incredibly insightful into his thought process. Although, I do agree with his publishers when it comes to publishing something with language that evolved, there is no way I would have read it if it were any worse than what it was.

I loved looking at the Art Trucks of Japan, and that was definitely helpful when it comes to envisioning McRae’s thought processes for his trucks. I know that Sarah went home and bought one of the Art Trucks books because they were just that cool.

Even though I could kind of pick it when we were reading Truck Song, I like the way that Andrew confirmed that the book is meant to be Jon Ra’s diaries through his time searching for Isa. And I am also grateful that Andrew could see that he was writing a toxic unrequited love (probably more aptly lust) relationship between Isa and Jon.

I also can completely see the trucks as dragons or thunderstorms, in that they are unpredictable. I think that is completely what they are and I definitely agree with Andrew on that one.

I did not ask any questions, because I do not feel that I could keep my disdain for the book from showing through if I had. But from the questions that were asked, I did find the answers to be quite interesting.

About evy

I'm studying a bachelors of writing and publishing and this is a blog about various things I read and write.
This entry was posted in Writing and Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

